A two-interview day

Interviews are tiring. I had one this morning, a local in-person interview, and one this evening, a long-distance Skype interview with a committee.  Both were fun.  I’m trying to avoid thinking too much about how they went, because analyzing and itemizing everything I did wrong or everything I could have said better is not a help.  I did not feel as if either one was a failure; both, in fact, felt pretty good.  But there’s no way to know if the interviewers felt the same way or what the competition is.

Tomorrow I have another interview and I’m preparing intensely for this one.  Which is another reason I’m not engaging in interview post-mortem right now.  Getting sleep is more important.

Recovery from the computer failure is proving to be slow.  Due to great good fortune, I have found most of the files that were lost on various backup systems.  Things are not back to normal, but the new laptop is getting broken in, my most frequently used applications are up and running, I have implemented the first part of a regular backup plan, and I am enjoying the improved graphics on the new screen.

After tomorrow afternoon’s interview I will have more to write, out of relief if nothing else.